Our Leadership

Our Leadership Council is a diverse group of Californians who select and guide California Forward’s projects.

Lenny Mendonca, Co-Chair
Former Director of the San Francisco office of McKinsey & Company

Peter Weber, Co-Chair
Former Executive Committee Chair of the California Partnership for the San Joaquin Valley

Carl Guardino
President and CEO of the Silicon Valley Leadership Group

Jennifer Hernandez
Partner, Holland & Knight

Joanne Kozberg
Principal at California Strategies, LLC

Laurie Madigan 
Partner at Madigan Consulting, Inc

James P. Mayer
President & CEO of California Forward

Thomas V. McKernan, Founding Co-Chair
Chair of the Board of the Automobile Club of Southern California

Eloy Ortiz Oakley
Superintendent-President, Long Beach City College

Pete Peterson
Executive Director, Davenport Institute for Public Engagement and Civic Leadership, Pepperdine School of Public

Cruz Reynoso
Former Associate Justice of the California Supreme Court & the Third District Court of Appeal

Constance L. "Connie" Rice
Former Co-Director of the Los Angeles NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund

Eugene J. "Gene" Voiland
Former President & CEO of Aera Energy LLC

Previously Served

Juan Arambula
California State Assemblymember

Robert L. Balgenorth
President of the State Building & Construction Trades Council of California, AFL-CIO

David Davenport
Research Fellow at the Hoover Institution

Phaedra Ellis-Lamkins
CEO of Green For All

Yolie Flores
Children's Advocate

R. William "Bill" Hauck
Former President of the California Business Roundtable

Antonia Hernández
President & CEO of the California Community Foundation

Robert M. Hertzberg
Former Co-Chair; Chair & Founder of G24 Innovations

Fred Keeley
Former Assembly Speaker pro Tempore

Stewart Kwoh
President & Executive Director of Asian Americans Advancing Justice

Donna Lucas
Former Deputy Chief of Staff for Strategic Planning & Initiatives for Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger

Bruce McPherson
Former California Secretary of State

Leon E. Panetta
Former Co-Chair; Fmr. Secretary of Defense and Director of the Central Intelligence Agency

Charles "Chuck" Poochigian
Former State Senator & Assemblymember

Arturo Vargas
Executive Director, NALEO

Sunne Wright McPeak
President & CEO of the California Emerging Technology Fund